Return to news index

State Team Champions crowned at 2023 Australian Jumping Championships

The Australian Jumping Championships has historically hosted State Team Competitions for Juniors, Young Riders and Seniors. It is a great initiative, particularly for the younger riders as completing in a team environment helps them gain experience should their careers advance towards the top of the sport. This year there were only three states represented in each division as follows:


NSW –Amber Fuller and Nopal Van Tallaert, Aaron Hadlow and Vahlinvader, Tom McDermott and Cooley Gangster and Madeline Sinderberry and Camie Z (Reserve – Jamie Winning-Kermond and Tulara Stolensky).
QLD – Clem Smith and Oaks Conjuror, Mattea Davidson and Checkamour D, Sam Overton and Oaks Cassanova and Stuart Jenkins and Fairview Alicana.
VIC – Phillip Lever and Billionaire NZPH, Jess Pateman and Celso and Russell Johnstone and Daprice.


NSW – Georgia Bouzaid and Vitess, Clemency Hughes and YPH Capulet, Ella Silk and Redgum Conan and Annaliese Wansey and Texas. (Reserve – Claire Zylstra and Harvey B).
QLD – Fuschia Criss and Dual Diamond, Chase Naylor and Misty Blue Ego Z, Ben Bates and Beltana Quintessential and Simone Sorensen and Viva Blue.
VIC – Hayden Parker and Tulara Spangenberg, Tilley Fair and Oaks Constantino, Olivia Price and Chio MS and Jack Barker and Tulara Colchic.


NSW – Hannah Doolan and Ashleigh City Lights, Charlie Magnier and Notre Dame de Bourguignon, Jett Newman and Wanda, Jake Tomlinson and Vinchino. (Reserve – Molly Mooney and JB Evolution).
QLD – Olivia Hewitt-Toms and Celerity Park LM Star, Cody Tincknell and Conquest IMP, Holly Tomkins and Finch Farm Vroom and Skye Hosie and Athena NZPH (Reserve – James Hosie and Kiwi Storm).
VIC – Molly Lawrence and Carabel P, Sienna Holdsworth-Rose and Coolart Farm Short Torque, Elissa Stephens and Da Vince, Olivia Price and Lafayette. (Reserves – Charlee Dobbin and Cloud Gate or Castalada 11 and Jack Barker andTulara For Quinar).

After Day 4 of the Championships all the team competitions have been decided with the Young Rider win going to the NSW team on a total of 9 penalties. As proof of their superiority, all members of the NSW team currently lie within the top 9 placings on the Young Rider Leaderboard. Second place went to the Victorians who finished on a team total of 20 penalties, with the Queenslanders third on 46. It is a great initiative to get these young riders completing in a team environment, so they can gain experience should their careers advance towards the top of the sport.

The first and second rounds of the Australian Senior Championship also doubled as the teams challenge. The Queenslanders have won this competition for the past two years, however, this year the competition has been won by NSW. It was a very close-run thing with both NSW and Queensland equal on 17 penalties, but NSW prevailing on a countback based on times. Third place went to the Victorians who were at a disadvantage to the other states, only having a team of three and therefore no opportunity for discard scores.

In the Junior Championship the Queenslanders recorded the win in this competition for the second year in a row. Second pace in the competition went to the NSW team, while the Victorians had to settle for third.

The Championships are now moving into a weekend of individual finals and we are excited to see who will be named our Australian Jumping Champions for 2023.

Article courtesy of Equestrian Australia

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now