Return to news index

Dressage Recognition Squads announced for 2019

Equestrian Australia (EA) is pleased to announce the Dressage Recognition Squads for 2019.

The EA High Performance Program recognises combinations that have achieved outstanding performances, within their relevant category, throughout the previous twelve months. The Recognition Squads also aim to identify emerging talent with the potential to represent Australia at an International level in the future. The High Performance Squad structure consists of two tiers, High Performance Squads and Recognition Squads.

It has been an exciting twelve months for Australian dressage with the Australian Team securing Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualification after finishing in 8th place (of 15) at the World Equestrian Games (WEG) Tryon, North Carolina. Due to the unprecedented movement and sale of horses post WEG the Recognition Squads present a list notably absent of some of Australia’s leading dressage riders.

Although some of the familiar combinations that have been at the forefront of Australian dressage in recent years may not be listed, the exciting new prospects and partnerships obtained by not only Australia’s leading riders, but also by emerging talent, is at an all time high.

Equestrian Australia’s High Performance Director, Chris Webb, said “The performance delivered by the Australian Team at WEG this year was a positive indication of the calibre and potential of dressage in Australia, both at present and for the future.”

Scores that were taken into consideration when determining the 2019 Recognition Squads range from 1/11/2017 – 31/10/2018, with the horse’s age being measured by either Northern Hemisphere (1st January) or Southern Hemisphere (1st August) calculations.

Equestrian Australia would like to congratulate the combinations, and their connections, listed below who have been named on the Dressage Recognition Squads for 2019. All Dressage Recognition Squad members have met the selection criteria.

Senior Squad
Name: Kristy Oatley
Horse: Du Soleil
Owner: R & R Oatley

Development A: Emerging GP/Medium Tour, Horses 8-12 years
Name: Hayley Beresford
Horse: Rebana W
Owner: HB Equestrian International Pte Ltd

Name: Judy Dierks
Horse: Diamond Star
Owner: Vicki Newham

Name: Emma Flavelle-Watts
Horse: Cabaret C
Owner: Kim Tenkate

Name: Rozzie Ryan
Horse: Jarrah R
Owner: R & E Bevan H & R Ryan

Development B: Small Tour (Prix St-Georges/Inter I), Horses 7-11 years
Name: Riley Alexander
Horse: MI Sirtainly Sir
Owner: Julie Farrell

Name: Justine Greer
Horse: Jaybee Cavalier
Owner: Mark Nicholls

Name: Gordon Pratt
Horse: Bloomers Simply the Best
Owner: Melanie Bloom

Name: Robert Schmerglatt
Horse: Fiderfurst
Owner: Madonna Hedberg

Name: David Shoobridge
Horse: Kalimna Hotshot
Owner: Eliza Newton

Name: Maree Tomkinson
Horse: Donna Elena
Owner: Maree Tomkinson

Name: Lizzie Wilson-Fellows
Horse: Lets Jazzabit
Owner: Lizzie Wilson-Fellows

Development C: Riders 16-25 years

Name: Katharine Farrell
Horse: Luxor 118
Owner: Gregory Farrell

Name: Mary Warren
Horse: Mindarah Park Raphael
Owner: Mary Warren

Development D: Riders 16-21 years

Name: Michaela Bray
Horse: Flowervale Florenz
Owner: Michaela Bray

Name: Sarah Farraway
Horse: MW Rotsong
Owner: Toby Farraway

Name: Sienna Hawkins
Horse: Tallyho Something Saintly
Owner: Sienna Hawkins

Name: Tanisha Ryan
Horse: Quizzical
Owner: Tanisha Ryan

Name: Alistair Schramm
Horse: Zero Degrees
Owner: A.Schramm

Article courtesy of Equestrian Australia

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now