Return to news index

Which Countries Are Qualified for Eventing at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics?

What is the path to qualifying for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games?

A total of 65 combinations will compete in eventing, with 15 teams made up of three combinations each (45 total combinations) and a further 20 slots allotted to individual combinations. EN is breaking down the qualification process in a handy series of articles.

As the host nation, Japan automatically received one of the team quota places. The top six teams from the 2018 FEI World Equestrian Games at Tryon also qualified. As Japan finished fourth at WEG and already had qualification as the host nation, the qualification berth stretched to the team that finished seventh.

Great Britain, Ireland, France, Germany, Australia and New Zealand all secured Olympic qualification at WEG. Alongside Japan, that gives us seven nations already qualified for Tokyo, with a further eight team slots up for grabs.

Please click here to read the rest of the article as it appears on the Eventing Nation Website.

Article written by: Jenni Autry

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now